Quitters’ Update Thursday: Week 1

naoim Hi everyone.  Naomi here again, Health Strategy Manager at LloydsPharmacy, and I’m delighted to welcome you to our second Quitters’ Blog post.  We’ve had a great response so far, with lots of our readers finding it both refreshing and encouraging learning about real people’s experiences quitting smoking.  Thanks to everyone who gave us feedback so far – keep it coming!

So you might be wondering what I’m doing in this picture.  I don’t need much encouragement to pose for a picture at my desk!  Well, this is the Nicorette Inhaler and, honestly, I’m finding it to be so helpful this week.  A lot of my smoking was based around habit; in the morning with a cup of tea, after a tough meeting, before my annual review with my boss (what a week I chose to quit smoking!). These events would all have normally seen me reaching for a cigarette, almost automatically.  I’ve been reaching for my inhaler instead and it really is giving me relief.

sdWhat I’ve also been reaching for is our Smoking Control Customer Leaflet, particularly the section on Managing Withdrawal Symptoms. My fellow quitter housemate and I have been proper little hypochondriacs these past few days, checking every little symptom to see if it’s related to quitting!  Our leaflet gives a great summary of commonly experienced symptoms, explains why they’re occurring and some advice on relieving them.  Drinking lots of water has been especially helpful for me this week in relieving cravings for chocolate!  Pick up a leaflet in store or check out our website http://www.lloydspharmacy.ie/content/Smoking-Control/1453 for more information.

Anyway, it’s not officially my turn to update you so let me hand you over. You learned about all of our volunteers on Monday last. Today, we have Ciara and David telling you how they’ve been getting on this week:

 

Ciara, Sales Assistant LloydsPharmacy Raheny, Age 25

Still Smoke Free?  Yes!

ciara‘Hi everyone!

So I’ve been of the smokes since last Saturday evening and I haven’t had one since.  I’m delighted! I’m using the nicotine inhaler I’m finding it ok.

Since I gave up smoking, my body is beginning to really crave.  I have heard this is normal behaviour due to the lack of nicotine in my system so it’s actually a good sign.  I find that my love for chocolate and other sweet tastings things has increased a lot. To tackle that, I’m going out on walks in the evening to take my mind off wanting cigarettes.

My family and friends are delighted I have decided to quit.  My mam is of them two weeks as well so we are helping each other. This has definitely made things easier.

I haven’t been out with my friends on a girly night out since I gave up smoking  and I know when that time comes It will be very hard to say no if one is offered to me.  But I’m determined to keep up with my progress of giving them up.

So until next week, wish me luck!! :))’

Thanks again to one of our customers who is also sharing his journey with us. 

David, Teacher, Aged 33

Still Smoke Free?  Yes!

dave‘How long will this last?! This must be the 20th occasion that I have scrunched up that last pack of cigarettes, flung them in the trash and smugly patted myself on the back for kicking the habit. So I guess that I’m a great quitter. Only trouble is that I have a tendency to quit quitting. This time around though I’m feeling older and wiser and am in it for the long run.  At the age of 33 I’ve been smoking regularly for about 20 years. I had my first cigarette when I was 11. How I wish I’d never touched it.

So what were the positive actions that helped me to quit previously? I know for a fact that Nicorette patches work well for me. Some people find that they are rough on the skin but this doesn’t seem to affect me, so I have been back on them for the past two days. They are great for overcoming the grouchiness that comes with quitting.

Work helps me stay off the smokes too. My job as a teacher requires a great deal of patience; therefore it is crucial that I am not a raging and unreasonable monster to the kids… as well as my colleagues. As I have used Nicorette previously I know that they work and help me overcome the moodiness. Breaking the habit has been fine as I never smoke in work. None of my 30 colleagues smoke either, so there’s no one asking me to head out the back door for a quick one or being a bad influence.

Another key element to quitting has been having a definite goal and having a definite time frame. What has worked in the past for me has been signing up and training for sports events like a half-marathon or triathlon as these are things that make you breath hard. When I train the thoughts of having a cig fill me with disgust so I’ve been living in the gym for the past two nights and signed myself up for a charity Hell and Back run. This also helps counteract the inevitable appetite gain that goes hand in hand with quitting!

So two days in and I feel optimistic, am making the most of the positive actions that helped me in the past and am actually enjoying the experience of quitting. The weekend is going to be the real struggle; hopefully I’ll be this upbeat next week; wish me luck!’

Thanks Bloggers!

We really hope you find sharing in our experience helpful.  We’ll be back on Saturday with updates from more of our bloggers.  Feel free to give us any advice you have or share your stories!  Further advice and information is available by visiting http://www.lloydspharmacy.ie/content/Smoking-Control/1453 or www.quit.ie

Leave a Reply

