Quitters’ Update Saturday: Week 2

nn Happy weekend everyone! It’s Naomi back again and welcome to our second weekend of our Smoking Control Blog. This is another picture of me posing in our office, this time with a map of Riga, Latvia, this year’s European Capital of Culture.

(Can you see where I’m going with this?!)

You see, I’ve just booked a trip to Riga with my girlfriends. And guess where I got the money?

(You get me now, right?!)

This 3 night, 4 day trip (flights & accommodation) cost me LESS (yes LESS) than a month’s worth of cigarettes!! I know the health benefits of quitting are so incredibly important but I really am stupidly excited and proud that I’ve essentially bagged myself a free holiday!

Looking at the financial aspect of smoking can be a very useful way to get, or keep, yourself motivated to free yourself from the habit. Check out the table below to see the potential savings you could bring about by quitting based on how much you currently smoke (based on a pack price of €9.40 for 20).

How much could you save each year? What could you buy with it???tb

I hope this helps you.  It really has given me such a boost…

Okay, time to check in and see how Ciara and Lyndsey have been getting on.

Ciara, Sales Assistant LloydsPharmacy Raheny, Aged 25

Still Smoke-free?  Yes… ish!

ciaraHi again everyone!

I’m off the smokes nearly two weeks.  I gave them up 11th January. As I wrote in my first blog I’m still finding it very hard to stay off them but the nicotine inhaler has been a great help for when I’m really craving one!!!!!

I’m still doing more and more healthy things, such eating right foods and going on walks every day – this is really helping.

Last Saturday night I was out for dinner with friends and I regret to say the urge was to great and I did have 1 smoke :((( After it, I honestly felt sick so I am totally determined not to have another one. I haven’t had one since.

I find my sense of taste and smell is far greater since I’m off the smokes; I’m actually enjoying tasting my food. My friends and family have been so supportive. My mum is also off them so we’re helping each other out as best we can.

I’m off on holidays so I won’t be checking in next week but I’ll make sure to let you know how I get on.  Wish me luck though!!  I’m taking this one day at a time 🙂 ‘

Lyndsey, Manager LloydsPharmacy Blanchardstown, Aged 27

Still Smoke-Free?  YES!!

lynHi again everyone,

This is a picture of me with my family, the MAIN reason for quitting smoking.

The hubby Karl, my son Ben (9) and my daughter Zoey (3).

So I’m still going strong, I’m still a quitter 🙂

I’m 10 days smoke-free and it’s getting a ‘little’ (and I mean a ‘little’) easier.

As you are aware, I am using the Nicorette Patches. They do work for me but for the first couple of days they made my arm feel a bit funny!!!!  It wasn’t painful just an unusual sensation; maybe it was my system getting use to the nicotine going into a different part of the body.  They’ve given me the confidence to venture out on my own and I’ve tried some days without them. The minute I feel that craving coming on I’m straight away reaching for my…………………. patches.

This week has been a bit of a mixture. It’s been Fantastic tasting my food again, like REALLY tasting food. Not to mention saving money for our family holiday.  But with the good comes the bad; feels like I’m going to cough my lungs up; that’s for me the killer part as it can get quite sore and I wanna eat everything in sight 😦

On another plus side, it feels FAN-FAIRY-TASTIC that this is the longest I’ve been able to stay smoke free in years. I’m so proud!  A lot of people are saying ‘well done you’ve great will power’, but I honestly think it’s more stubbornness with me than will power….. I hate to fail!

Blog to you soon1

Smoke Free,

Lyndsey 🙂

Thanks Ciara & Lyndsey!!

Wow, what a way to start the weekend!  I particularly love hearing about Lyndsey’s determination to see this through for her family.  I’m aware how cheesy I may be sounding but being brought along on these journeys is adding to the other positive effects that quitting smoking has been having on me – it’s just so motivating.  We’re having the most amazing feedback from our readers and from our colleagues here in the office.  Thanks so much to all the bloggers and all the people spurring us on.

Have a smoke-free weekend everyone.  We know we will 😉

Naomi

Leave a Reply

