Quitters’ Weekend Update: Week 4

boozeHere we go again!! Today’s picture features me with my greatest temptation – the booze. It’s the weekend and that means a drink or two (I really need to consider staying in a bit more!) and a drink or two usually means Naomi gasping for a cigarette. This is my fourth weekend as a non-smoker and here’s hoping I eventually start forgetting cigarettes, or indeed stop dreading the thoughts of visiting the pub quite so much.

Tonight, I’ve a date with my boyfriend who is also in the midst of quitting. There’ll be no one else there to distract us, no other quitters or non-smokers about to act as our conscience. This will be a real test for us both. If any of you sees me about the capital tonight, please do feel free to give me a nod of encouragement or a friendly high-five!

Before we hear from the lovely Lyndsey again, something I read today shocked me. See below a link to an article about smoking trends amongst pregnant women in Ireland. Before now, I always thought that if I ever got pregnant, that would be the one thing that would make me give up immediately and permanently.

(Please don’t panic friends & family – I’m well aware I can barely mind myself so no immediate maternity plans!)

I think most smokers would be of the same opinion. Shockingly though, Ireland has a higher rate of smoking during pregnancy than the US, with between 18 and 21 per cent of women unable (or opting not) to quit the habit while carrying a baby. I spoke in an earlier blog about finding your motivation… I can’t think of one more compelling! Indeed our own Lyndsey is doing her best to become a non-smoker before she thinks about having more children.

journal

http://www.thejournal.ie/smoking-pregnant-ireland-1176546-Nov2013/

Reading this got me thinking about how lucky I’ve been in that this quitting has been a mostly positive experience for me. It hasn’t been that difficult, once I had made the decision to go through with it. But it must be so much more difficult for others, particularly those women who do not give up during pregnancy.

This just emphasises the importance of SUPPORT, MOTIVATION and MEDICATION.  You have to make it easier on yourself.  If you’re finding it difficult, please ask about Smoking Control in your local LloydsPharmacy, or a similar service in another pharmacy, or indeed check out www.quit.ie for online support.  Your family will thank you.

Okay… ready for a smile?!  Lyndsey never lets us down…

Lyndsey, Manager LloydsPharmacy Blanchardstown, Aged 27

Still Smoke-Free?  YES!!

piggy bankHi again everyone!

Meet SMOKE-Y Bacon my savings piggy, who is getting nice and full lately 🙂

So still smoke-free and really enjoying it. I’m not going to say ‘loving it’ as I am still missing them. However I keep telling myself I’m only one drag to being back at the very start. (I’m not going there again).

Okay so I’m not a big drinker and I don’t go out weekends so I don’t have that temptation to smoke with drink or anything like that. But my temptation is definitely put to the test when I’m in my car and by God did it reach its peak this week……..

The weather the last couple of days has been pants. Which means an EXTRA early start for me to try beat the traffic. So I’m driving to work in the mental weather, having a fight with the steering wheel cos of the wind and the window wipers are on full with the rain. Next I just see break lights on the motorway. Yep just as I dreaded, I hit traffic. So I’m grand for the first couple of minutes just listening away to the radio. I look out the window to the car beside me and there was a man having a smoke out his window. Now all I can think about is….. I’d LOVE a smoke right now, like I’d REALLY love a smoke right now. I’m nearly willing for a pop-up garage to appear on the motorway, just so I could buy a pack and end this horrible feeling of temptation.

But nope that didn’t work.  although I did feel like rolling down my window and giving the man a piece of my mind for smoking next to my car cos now all I want is a smoke and I was fine till before I seen him acting all cool with his stupid smokes ha ha!!  (Oh as you can guess by this little story, I’m sooooo not a morning person!)

I was thinking about what Naomi was saying in her blog about needing a distraction and it’s so true but I just don’t think I’ve found mine quite yet. If I was to take up knitting my kids would end up with a sleeping bag instead of just a hat, ha ha!! So I think I need to get my thinking cap on and find my Distraction.  I’ll let you know J

Blog you all soon!

Smoke-Free,

Lyndsey…’

As usual Lyndsey, fair auld play to you x

Distraction and Motivation – what it’s all about it seems.  And making it EASIER…

Do you really want to quit?  What are you going to do to make it easier to do so?  How will your life/the life of your family be better if you’re successful?  What will you do instead of smoking?

There is no point embarking on this unless you have good answers for these questions and sturdy plans in place.  Here’s hoping my own plans last the weekend!

Enjoy the weekend everyone!

Chat soon,

Naomi…

Leave a Reply

